Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

Whether it is getting a new job or making a new recipe, starting something new is always exiting and, in its own way, terrifying. You are afraid of something going wrong, of not being good enough, or that that cake you put in the oven will explode before giving you the time to understand what you messed up. When Gordon Ramsey is the one who is cooking, everything looks effortless but, as soon as you are left alone in front of the cooker, you realize that it’s not exactly the same. There, this is how starting a new blog feels like: hundreds have done it before -some better some worse- and I have always told myself that, after all, it’s no big deal. Now that I find myself fingers on the keyboard and so many things to say but no idea of what the first ones should be, I’m starting to seriously doubt that running a blog is as easy as I thought It would be.

This is clearly not going to stop me, but, well, I’m a little shaky.

I’ve no intention of keeping you any longer with meaningless chatter (even though I have a ball doing it) so I’ll move on to more “serious” topics (if you are wondering about the air quotes, you are soon going to realize that my “serious” topics aren’t so serious after all).

Last night I was wondering where to start off from, what topic to mention without coming off completely obsessed with gays and pink. In the end I gave up and picked the gayest and pinkest topic ever. Actually, It was Destiny who picked it for me, so I couldn’t help myself.

I will then start off by talking about Priscilla – Queen of the Desert, the musical (from the homonymous movie). For those of you who are not familiar with the plot, Priscilla is about three very different Drag Queens (Mitzi, Bernadette and Felicia) who end up traveling through the Australian desert on a pink bus, Priscilla. During the journey they face many hilarious adventures, find love, learn to know and understand each other and themselves. The story touches several strong subjects, such as discrimination and fear of acceptance with lightness and humor.

The pièce de resistence of the show, though, is definitely the soundtrack. “I Will Survive”, “I Say a Little Prayer”, “It’s Raining Men”, “Like a Virgin”, … there are many gay anthems that make you want to get your butt off of your comfortable chair and start dancing like there’s no tomorrow.

I’ve been lucky enough to be able to attend a show with a terrific cast: the “Divas” (Elena Nieri, Loredana Fadda and Martina Pezzoli) proved to be extremely talented, and so did Simone Leonardi (Bernadette), Antonello Angiolillo (Mitzi) and Mirko Ranù (Felicia).

I’ve enjoyed the most Ranù’s performance, maybe because Felicia has been my favorite character ever since the first time I watched the movie.

Priscilla is the gayest musical -or show in general- I have ever seen. Not only because of the sequins, the costumes (also fabulous) and the songs, but also because of the jokes (both sharp and irreverent) and the background message that comes off loud and proud: be whomever you want to be, and in the end you’ll get what you want.

Well, this musical had me thinking: if there really is a Drag Queen inside all of us, mine is probably extremely pesky.

Any thoughts?

