Rules to lesbian dating

Image

I’m aware that the title of this article might sound a little pretentious…I mean, who am I to give people advice on how to get a girl? Let’s face it, I’m no Shane McCutcheon. What I can say is that I do have a little experience in that field, so I feel like I should put it to use and try to help someone who needs some advice. If you don’t need advice or aren’t into women you can always read the article and have a little laugh, or even share your own pearls of wisdom!

1. Be confident

I know what you are going to say: if you are confident you don’t need people to tell you to be and if you aren’t you will never be, right? Wrong! You are not born a confident person, you become one. If you are not confident, pretend that you are. I once heard this speech where a woman said that in order to be confident you have to “fake it until you make it”. I think that’s 100% true.

I know that the majority of girls are afraid of asking a girl out. I think it is mostly a cultural thing: as women we aren’t “trained” to go after other people, we have always been told that we are not the ones who have to make the first move. But what happens if there are two women involved? Somebody has to do something, or we’ll all be single forever, right? The thing is, if you are afraid of making the first move, chances are that the girl you’re interested in is just as afraid as you are, and is waiting for you to do something. Summon you courage and ask her out. I promise that it won’t be so difficult after a while.

2. Take care of yourself

You need to like yourself: if you don’t nobody will. In my experience a good way of liking yourself is taking care of yourself. If you feel like you are at your best you won’t only feel more confident, but you will also look better.

3. Don’t act like you are BFFs

I find this rule to be extremely important in the lesbian dating world. I once went on a date with this girl who was sending me all these mixed signals and I couldn’t figure out whether she wanted to be my girlfriend or not for the life of me. In the straight world it’s pretty simple: if a guy asks you out there’s little room for doubt, you know what’s going on. But women are different. They are harder to read. I’m sure you’ve all been on that date where after a while you start wondering “Is this an actual date? Has she just asked me out as friend? Did I misunderstand?”. To avoid all these complications you need to be straight forward. I’m not saying that you can’t play hard to get a little bit or that you have to confess  your eternal love on the first date (please don’t!), just flirt a bit and let her know that you are not interested in her advice on dating other women.

4. Make her feel special

Whether we are talking about a girly girl or the butchiest of bull dykes, a woman is still a woman, and women need to feel important. Every woman is different so there are no hard and fast rules to do so, but there’s always a way. You can try with simple presents for no special occasion, or maybe flowers if she’s into that. However, even if you don’t want to do that or she doesn’t really like this kind of things, the most important thing that you need to do is listen to her. Let her know that you value her opinion and pay attention to what she has to say. If you get bored just try to say the alphabet backwards to yourself: it will give you something to do and make you look super intense and concentrated. Ok I’m kidding, but you never know…

5. Don’t play games

As I said before, there’s nothing wrong with playing a little hard to get. When you are interested in a girl you can’t be her humble servant, spoil her to infinity and text her a billion times a day, it shouldn’t be like that even after you got the girl and you are in a relationship, actually. But there is an ocean between being your own person with some dignity and an opinion and playing games. In my opinion there’s nothing worse that someone who calculates every single move and forgets to be herself on the way. If you are trying to play games she will notice, and probably lose interest in you. You need to find a middle ground between being completely unattainable and being totally dedicated to her. At least that’s my opinion.

7 thoughts on “Rules to lesbian dating

  1. amediablogger says:

    Nice post. I agree with all your points in particular the confidence. There’s nothing worse than a woman with zero confidence. Also I think another rule is not to be self absorbed. I’ve been on quite a few dates in my life where women have felt the need to pour their hearts out to me about previous relationships and that’s a big no no!

    Like

    • LuckyBastard says:

      So true! It’s just crazy when girls pour their hearts out on the first date…maybe if they see this post they won’t anymore 🙂
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

  2. yes says:

    Don’t play games is true. I’ve met so many women who try so hard to be unattainable that they end up alone and depressed because I got tired of them and went on to someone else. There are other ways to make yourself attractive to someone that don’t involve playing mind games (like running hot and cold for no reason).

    Like

Any thoughts?

