Life updates

Immagine

After quite a long break (at least from my part), caused by exams, well deserved holidays and extremely boring working afternoons, I’m ready to get back on track. Besides reopening my law books -which has been as hard as it has painful- I have also reopened Word (ok, that’s a little lie: I never actually close Word, I always find some time to work on my future best seller).
Anyway, since my last article is weeks old, I’ve decided to dedicate this post to the main reasons that made me set the blog aside for a while: ten things that made me appreciate and hate this summer.

1. Positive: CeCe Frey

CeCe is about to publish an album and I am obviously ecstatic about it. I made all my friends swear that they’d get at least a copy. I don’t know if they’ll go through with it, but I sure hope so.
CeCe is publishing videos about this experience on her YouTube channel, titled 14.59. Only the first episode is available at the moment, but I’m sure there will be many more soon. I really hope that the CD won’t disappoint me, but I doubt it will. Unfortunately -and I’m the first to realize that- when it comes to CeCe I can’t ever be objective. Is it because of her amazing voice? …Uhm…

Click here for the first episode!

2. Negative: Rome’s clubs

If you’d like to be drunk and dancing, don’t go to Rome in the week-end before August 15th because all you’ll find is a post-apocalyptic wasteland. My friends and I went through a bunch of misadventures before we could find a club that was both good and open. And figure that they even led us to believe that there was a heavenly place called Gay Village, that we found darker and sadder than Hell.

3. Positive: G.A.Y

Yep, I’m talking about Heaven, in London. That’s right, the very place where hundreds of guys dance bare chest right next to you and nobody cares if you are kissing a man, a woman, or both at the same time. Did I have fun? You bet. I’m not going to attempt to review G.A.Y. in any way, also because I don’t have enough experience to be able to evaluate if a club was mediocre of phenomenal, but I will say that I danced on the notes of Madonna (and One Direction, to my dismay), I drank cocktails that had accessible prices (unlike any other place in London), I dropped my glasses on the dance floor and surprisingly found them still intact, I asked myself where the hell were all the lesbians (because finding them in that crowd was as hard as finding a straight guy) and, at the end of the night, I was so exhausted that I fell asleep on the bus ride home.
After all this, I still haven’t caught how the bracelet thing that let you get in for £2 worked (but I think Lucky has, so if you’re interested you can ask her).

4. Negative: Joshua Jackson and Diane Kruger                                          

I’ve finally come to terms with reality and surrendered to the fact that Joshua won’t be mine. I’ve given my blessing to the happy couple and I hope they’ll live happily ever after. At least she’s blond and that cheers me up a little: I’m sure that if Joshua had met me, he would have chosen me insted.

5. Positive: Harry Potter Studios

After dancing at Heaven (or before, I don’t remember right now) we visited the Harry Potter Studios. As you might have already noticed, Lucky and I are huge Harry Potter fans so -just like when we talk about CeCe- I don’t think that my opinion can be very objective. Because, if I must say, I have loved that place so much that when I saw Hogwarts’ miniature, I almost burst into tears. I’ve never really liked the movies -to be honest, I have never liked them at all- but being there, among all those pieces of scenography of places that I have loved ever since I was seven left me breathless.
It’s something that every fan should experience. I wouldn’t recommend the Butterbeer, because it’s too sweet and simply disgusting, but I already know that you would buy it anyway. After all, what’s a couple of Pounds compared to the thought of being a little closer to our Harry?

6. Negative: Cory Monteith

7. Positive: Agron and Nasir (and Spartacus)

I put Spartacus in brackets because he also deserves a little shout-out. I like the storylines, I love the adrenaline and the direction, but, I admit it, Agron and Nasir’s love story is the main thing that has kept me on my toes for the entire last season. I just have to think about the ninth episode – where Agron comes back after being imprisoned by Crassus- to feel a little happier.

8. Positive: Wicked

For those of you who are not familiar with it, Wicked is a musical that tells the story of the Wicked Witch of the West, Elphaba (the one from The Wizard of OZ) and her friendship with the Good Witch of the North, Glinda. The two of them meet at University and, at first, they despise each other. They are very different -Glinda is shallow and popular while Elphaba is a brainy outcast- but that’s what makes them become best friends. Unfortunately life puts them in front of choices that will take them on very different paths.
I really loved the story. I laughed and cried and I think it was one of the best shows I have ever seen.
Broadway musical, amazing songs, Fiyero with an Irish accent – I have a soft spot for the Irish accent-, what more could I ask for? A happier ending perhaps, where Elphy finally admits that she has been in love with Glinda all along and they live happily ever after. Who knows, maybe there’s going to be a sequel…

9. Negative: Yelena Isinbayeva

I wonder what Yelena Isinbayeva meant when she said that russians are normal people, that men live with women and women with men. I wonder what she meant when she said -refferring to some of her collegues’ behavior- that some acts and words are offensive in her country.
Now she claims that she has been misunderstood. She says that English isn’t her mother language, that she actually is against any form of homosexual discrimination.
Maybe it’s true, maybe it isn’t. All I know is that there isn’t much room to misunderstanding in the anti-gay propaganda law and in the fact that Yelena, instead of speaking up right away, gave an answer that was, in fact, misunderstandable.

10. Positive: not enough

The most positive thing of all – and I realize that now- is that ten points aren’t enough to list all the positive and negative things that have happened lately. I told you, it’s been intense.
To wrap it up, I’ll pick something randomly (I’ve written them down and now I’m fishing them out of a bag): I got a new cover for my cell, it looks like Ned Flanders and has an awesome mustache!

Sometimes you really don’t need a lot to be happy.

2 thoughts on “Life updates

Any thoughts?

