Is ‘Looking’ the next ‘Queer as folk’?

Image

When a few months ago I found out that there was going to be a new gay show on the air, I had mixed feelings. I was glad because I thought it was long overdue, but I was also worried that it might be just plain awful. I mean, I loved both Queer as Folk and The L Word (say what you want, I think that show is hilarious), so I knew that those were some big shoes to fill. After watching the whole first season I have to say that I’m really happy this show has been made: I’m still not sure if it will be able to become ‘the next gay TV show’, but it sure has had a pretty good start.

The show tells the story of Patrick (Jonathan Groff), Agustín (Frankie J. Álvarez) and Dom (Murray Bartlett), three gay friends living in San Francisco looking for love, success and themselves. I really like the cast -I have to admit, I’ve always had a soft spot for Jonathan Groff, for no apparent reason- I found them believable and I felt invested in their storylines from the start. Even though there were characters that I didn’t necessarily understand (I’m looking at you, Agustín) I was always curious to find out what they were going to do next, how they would react to a situation.

That brings me to what is probably the thing that I enjoyed the most about the show: I found the storylines quite unpredictable. Few things give me more pleasure than watching a show and keep guessing and guessing the plot without ever getting it. To be completely honest, I’m not one of those people who always understands everything before it happens –to be even more honest I’m usually the last one to understand- but SB is annoyingly good at predicting plotlines and she was also surprised in several occasions. My hope is that it will keep being interesting in Season 2 –it’s already been renewed- and that maybe we’ll be able to see a few more episodes this time around because, honestly, eight 30-minute episodes just aren’t enough.

There have been some things that I didn’t particularly care for, like the directing, which felt kind of awkward. I guess it was an attempt to make it feel more ‘real’, in a way, but it just didn’t do it for me. Although I did manage get used to it after a while, SB never really got over it so I thought I should mention it.

Overall, I have to say that I am excited to see more from this show, mainly because I don’t really know what to expect from the next season. Will Patrick finally realize that his boss is much much better than Richie? Will Agustín stop acting like a drama queen and finally come to his senses? Will Dom get a more interesting love interest? So many questions, I can’t wait to have all the answers.

3 thoughts on “Is ‘Looking’ the next ‘Queer as folk’?

  1. SnobbishBlond says:

    But why? Why everybody hates Agustin?! I mean, he has only one problem: he is complicated. But I can understand him and soooo I really love him. He is my favourite Looking character 😉

    Like

Any thoughts?

