Gay tragedies

I feel like I’m always complaining – and I don’t like that – but I do have to vent about this.

I like watching TV and I like movies. That’s why whenever I find a storyline with LGBT characters I get really excited and want to watch it. Sometimes I go to the movies and pay a ticket just to support LGBT projects – although, to be honest, it’s usually SB that makes me do it –.

That’s how I got to wonder: why is it that a LGBT movie to interest the general public – and by that I mean straight people – has to have a tragic ending?

I know, I know, I should be happy that there even are big budget LGBT movies and stop complaining, but the thing is, just for once, I would like to see the typical sappy rom-com that nobody actually loves but everyone likes with a queer couple at the center of it.

I’ve been thinking about it, you know? I rarely like “chick flicks”, but what I do like are similar movies with gay characters; the storyline is almost identical only, instead of  the boy meets girl archetype you have boy meets boy. The only problem with about 90% of these productions is that they have an extremely limited budget and I, being picky, can’t enjoy them as much as I normally would.

The thing is that now starring in a gay movie is sort of “trendy”, so I find it really hard to believe that there are no famous actors that would like to play one of these roles, bringing in sponsors etc.

Fine, it’s not like I’m an expert, it’s not like I know how the movie industry actually works, but I’m just throwing this out there, in the hopes that someone will read it and maybe- just maybe – give us a gay movie that doesn’t suck, isn’t depressing and isn’t confusing. Just sayin’.

Any thoughts?

