Should Xena be a lesbian?

untitled

I’m a nineties child, which means I grew up watching Dragon Ball, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and, obviously, Xena. I loved Xena so much I’m actually surprised I had to wait until I was 15 to realize that I was a raging homo, but that’s not the point of this article.

Since I was a really big fan of Xena when I was a kid, I was actually stoked when I found out they were going to reboot it. I mean, they’re rebooting anything and everything  these days, they might as well do something I enjoy – also because the photography in the original episodes is so bad and so nineties it just hurts to watch it in 2016.

While the child me might not have consciously known why, one of the reasons I loved the show so much was the relationship between Xena and Gabrielle, which was definitely more than just a friendship even though they never made it official.

Apparently the “new Xena” is going to step away from subtext and explore the relationship between the two warriors the way it could not be done twenty years ago, which is obviously good news. What I’m not really convinced about is Xena’s sexuality. From the way they are talking about it, it sounds like she’s going to be 100% gay and I think it’s a shame because although Gabrielle was clearly meant to be her one true love Xena also had a lot of other flirts and a lot of chemistry with Ares.

They are probably going to change up the plot anyway and just keep the main characters but I think it would be a shame getting rid of part of the show just to make sure fans won’t  get angry because of their choices (we all know how intense lesbian fans can get…). That’s at least how I’ve always interpreted the character, and I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way. Also, you rarely see bisexual female characters that are so badass, usually they are just really feminine girls who basically look straight, so I think it would be a nice change, that’s all.

2 thoughts on “Should Xena be a lesbian?

Any thoughts?

